Accueil > Seychelles: a better way to travel

Seychelles: a better way to travel

Tourisme écoresponsable aux Seychelles

Slow tourism’s favourite destination

Scattered across the Indian Ocean, the Seychelles is the kind of archipelago dreams are made of. With pristine beaches and turquoise water that make the Caribbean green with envy, it’s practically paradise on Earth. It is home to lush yet fragile nature, fully embracing the idea of eco-conscious tourism that aims to protect the environment. The idea of a visitor that takes the time to find themselves and immerse themselves in another culture. Sounds like slow tourism to us!

The Seychelles: a unique environment worth protecting

The Seychelles is well aware of the fact it has unrivalled natural capital, and it has been working for many years to make this magnificent setting into a sanctuary. Ecosystem protection is a national cause on the archipelago’s 115 islands, mobilising the entire population from hotel employees to schoolchildren, who regularly have lessons on the subject. As such, nearly half of the country is a listed national park, making it the world champion in this regard. A host of pioneering initiatives have emerged in recent years, including the introduction of large-scale coral nurseries used to restore the reefs destroyed by the El Niño phenomenon in 1998 and the protection of native animal populations, with turtles and tortoises being a primary focus, some of which have become icons of the archipelago. Thanks to rigorous programmes making egg-laying sites into sanctuaries, especially on Curieuse Island, many of them have seen their numbers explode.

Tourisme écoresponsable aux Seychelles

In addition, by banning settlements on certain extremely fragile islands (including Cousin and Curieuse) and reducing motor vehicle use on the majority of the islands, the Seychelles offers visitors the chance to help protect their idyllic holiday destination. There are several initiatives, often tied to environmental conservation associations, such as Nature Seychelles, that combine the holiday of a lifetime with awareness of its environmental footprint. The main activity is beach clean-ups, of course, organised by associations such as the Aldabra Clean Up Project. You can also help researchers collect data on the islands’ many tortoise species or surrounding coral reefs and so help improve our understanding of these endangered wonders.

The Seychelles archipelago: a paradise for lovers of eco-friendly outdoor activities

The Seychelles is world-famous for the crystal-clear waters that surround its many islands, making it a diving paradise. Its turquoise blue waters, protected from trade winds for the majority of the year, are filled with dazzlingly rich ecosystems, designated marine protected areas. The archipelago’s underwater splendours are best discovered in Mahé, Praslin and La Digue. They can be admired in complete tranquillity; you just need a snorkel, mask and unconditional respect. With manta rays, clownfish and multicoloured corals, you can look but not touch and must limit your flipper movements to leave the environment as you found it. If you’re a deep water diver, then you won’t be disappointed either as you can immerse yourself in a fascinating world with particularly abundant wildlife, and you may just encounter a massive yet peaceful whale shark.

Tourisme écoresponsable aux Seychelles

If you don’t want to choose between admiring the seabed and the archipelago’s idyllic landscapes, we strongly recommend sea kayaking or paddleboarding, both eco-friendly ways to explore one of the many small islands surrounding Mahé and Praslin while enjoying breathtaking panoramic views. If you want an even more immersive experience, hire a clear bottom kayak for a front-row seat to admire turtles and tropical fish. Hiking in the Seychelles is another one of the best ways to enjoy the complete change of scenery offered by the exuberant nature typical of the equatorial climate. Follow one of the 40 or so marked trails on the three main islands. The highlight is the Morne Seychellois, the archipelago’s highest peak at 905 m above sea level.

Tourisme écoresponsable aux Seychelles

Slow tourism: discover the Seychelles — and yourself

Relaxation is a way of life in the Seychelles. In the midst of this lush nature and stunning scenery, how could it be anything else? Is there anywhere more suited to introspection and the pursuit of inner peace? Time seems to stand still on this string of exotic, timeless pearls in the midst of the Indian Ocean. Contemplate the vastness of the ocean or simply enjoy the gentle rolling of the waves on a white sand beach surrounded by granite rocks. A trip to the Seychelles provides a unique break to reconnect with yourself and the environment.

Tourisme écoresponsable aux Seychelles

Uninhabited until the 18th century, the archipelago is a melting pot of European, African and Asian influences. The capital Victoria has two remarkable cathedrals, one Catholic and the other Anglican, the remnants of two successive colonial powers. The country’s official languages — Seychellois Creole, English and French — are a perfect example of this cultural mix. As for the food, the focus is on rice with fresh fish, seasoned with delicious local spices or those brought by ships sailing through the archipelago from Africa or Asia. Favouring intense, authentic experiences, the slow tourism ethos is perfectly embodied by the vibrant and welcoming culture of the Seychelles.

Photos credits : © Istock

Tourisme : Nouvelle-Calédonie, vue rapprochée sur le lagon turquoise avec l'île du pin en arrière plan

PONANT takes you there

Explore the Seychelles archipelago
Embark on a cruise with PONANT to the most beautiful shores of the Indian Ocean

To discover

Ponant's brochures

Would you like to know more about our exceptional destinations?

mockup-escales-en

Accueil > Seychelles : une certaine idée du voyage

Seychelles : une certaine idée du voyage

Tourisme écoresponsable aux Seychelles

Quand le slow tourisme trouve sa terre de prédilection

Les Seychelles, archipel de rêve semé au sein de l’océan Indien, évoquent une certaine idée du paradis sur Terre, entre plages immaculées et eau turquoise à faire pâlir d’envie les Caraïbes. Dans une nature à la fois luxuriante et fragile, elles embrassent pleinement l’idée d’un tourisme conscient de son environnement et désireux de le protéger. D’un voyageur qui prend le temps de se découvrir et de s’immerger dans une autre culture. Vous avez dit slow tourisme ?

Les Seychelles : un environnement unique à protéger

Bien conscientes de posséder un capital naturel à nul autre pareil, les Seychelles œuvrent depuis de nombreuses années pour sanctuariser ce magnifique écrin. Cause nationale, la protection des écosystèmes sur les quelque cent quinze îles de l’archipel mobilise l’ensemble de la population, de l’employé d’hôtel à l’écolier, régulièrement sensibilisés sur le sujet. Ainsi, près de la moitié du pays est classé « parc national », en faisant le champion mondial en la matière. Ces dernières années, de nombreuses initiatives pionnières ont vu le jour, notamment l’installation de pépinières de coraux à grande échelle servant de réservoir pour remplacer les récifs détruits par le phénomène El Nino en 1998. La protection des populations animales endémiques tortues en tête, dont certaines sont devenues les emblèmes de l’archipel. Grâce à de rigoureux programmes de sanctuarisation des lieux de ponte, notamment sur l’île Curieuse, nombre d’entre elles ont vu leurs effectifs exploser .

Tourisme écoresponsable aux Seychelles

Outre le fait d’interdire les habitations sur certaines îles (Cousin et Curieuse notamment) en raison de leur extrême fragilité et de réduire l’utilisation des véhicules motorisés aux plus grandes d’entre elles, les Seychelles offrent à leurs visiteurs la possibilité d’aider à protéger le décor idyllique de leurs vacances. Plusieurs initiatives existent, souvent main dans la main avec des associations de protection de l’environnement à l’instar de Nature Seychelles, afin de lier vacances de rêve et conscience de son empreinte écologique. Avec bien sûr en premier lieu le nettoyage des plages, comme celui organisé par l’Aldabra Clean Up Project. Il est également possible d’aider les chercheurs à collecter des données sur les nombreuses espèces de tortues de l’île ou les récifs coralliens environnants, et  de participer ainsi à une meilleure connaissance de ces merveilles en danger.

L’archipel des Seychelles, un paradis pour les activités de plein air

Reconnues dans le monde entier pour les flots cristallins qui entourent ses nombreuses îles, les Seychelles ressemblent à un petit paradis pour plongeur. Ses eaux bleu turquoise, protégées des alizés la majeure partie de l’année, abritent des écosystèmes d’une richesse éblouissante, classés aires marines protégées. Les splendeurs sous-marines de l’archipel, Mahé, Praslin et La Digue en tête, se laissent approcher avec un simple masque et un tuba, en toute tranquillité dans le respect absolu de leur intégrité.. On admire raies manta, poissons clowns et coraux multicolores, mais on ne touche pas et on limite ses mouvements de palme pour laisser l’environnement intact après notre passage. Pas en reste, les amateurs de plongée en eau profonde pourront s’immerger dans un monde fascinant où la faune est particulièrement abondante avec l’espoir de croiser un massif mais paisible requin-baleine.

Tourisme écoresponsable aux Seychelles

Pour celles et ceux qui ne veulent pas choisir entre admirer les fonds marins et les paysages paradisiaques de l’archipel, il est fortement conseillé de tenter l’aventure du paddle ou du kayak de mer, une façon écoresponsable d’explorer  l’une des nombreuses petites îles entourant Mahé ou Praslin tout en profitant de panoramas à couper le souffle. Pour une expérience encore plus immersive, le kayak à fond de verre s’impose pour être aux premières loges pour observer tortues et poissons tropicaux. La randonnée aux Seychelles le long des quelque 40 sentiers balisés des trois îles principales est également l’un des meilleurs moyens de profiter du dépaysement absolu qu’offre cette nature exubérante typique du climat équatorial.,. avec en point d’orgue le Morne Seychellois, point culminant de l’archipel à 905 m au-dessus des flots.

Tourisme écoresponsable aux Seychelles

Slow tourisme : à la découverte de soi et des Seychellois

La relaxation est un art de vivre aux Seychelles. Comment pourrait-il en être autrement au milieu de cette nature luxuriante et de ces paysages qui invitent à la contemplation? Existe-t-il lieu plus adapté à l’introspection, à la recherche de l’apaisement intérieur ? Le temps semble s’arrêter sur l’archipel, chapelet de perles exotiques en plein océan Indien. Contempler l’immensité de l’océan Indien ou simplement profiter du doux bruissement des vagues sur une plage de sable blanc, entouré de blocs de roches granitiques, un voyage aux Seychelles est une parethèse unique, pour se reconnecter avec soi-même et avec l’environnement.

Tourisme écoresponsable aux Seychelles

Inhabité jusqu’au XVIIIe siècle, l’archipel est un creuset d’influences européennes, africaines et asiatiques.  La capitale Victoria abrite deux cathédrales remarquables, une catholique et une anglicane, vestiges des deux puissances coloniales successives.  langues officielles du pays, créole seychellois, anglais et français, sont un parfait exemple de cette mixité culturelle. La gastronomie, fait  la part belle au riz accompagné de poissons frais assaisonnés de délicieuses épices locales ou apportées par les navires croisant l’archipel depuis l’Afrique ou l’Asie. La découverte de la culture seychelloise, accueillante et vibrante, s’inscrit pleinement dans une démarche de slow tourisme qui privilégie les expériences intenses et authentiques.

Crédits photos : © Istock

Tourisme : Nouvelle-Calédonie, vue rapprochée sur le lagon turquoise avec l'île du pin en arrière plan

PONANT vous y emmène

Explorez l’archipel des Seychelles. Embarquez pour une croisière avec PONANT vers les plus plus beaux rivages de l’océan Indien

À découvrir

Les brochures Ponant

Vous souhaitez en savoir davantage sur nos destinations d’exception ?

mockup-escales