Accueil > A day in Montreal

A day in Montreal

marc-olivier-jodoin-BG9oZ15a4Xk-unsplash

A breath of fresh air, artsy strolls and light shows

Quebec’s largest city, Montreal inspires and attracts visitors from all walks of life, sometimes even for stopovers. What can you see in a day in Montreal? Here is a guide for your adventure in Canada’s premier French-speaking metropolis.

9amBreathe!

The lungs of the city, Mont-Royal Park was designed by the same landscape architect as that of Central Park in New York City. You can enjoy Castors Lake, pleasant for picnics and walks in the summer and great for skating in winter! Mont-Royal Park also boasts a large hill, measuring 234 metres, and providing a stunning view across the city and surrounding lakes. This park is a real breath of fresh air in the centre of this metropolis that is home to over 1.7 million people.

11amA tour of the museum

The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts is known internationally for the variety and richness of its collections. All eras are represented. The visitor will discover the archeological treasures of the Mediterranean, Asia, Africa and the Middle East. It then plunges into the art of the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Baroque, Classical and Enlightenment periods, right up to Impressionism and into contemporary art, photography and design. The area reserved for Quebec and Canadian art completes these permanent and temporary exhibitions, among the most comprehensive in the world.

1pmMarket cooking

For lunch, go to Jean-Talon Market, open from 7am to 6pm. You will love the local produce as well as the Asian and Middle Eastern flavours. The stalls are overflowing with cut flowers, fruit and vegetables, seafood produce (catch of the day guaranteed) and meat aged to your taste. For immediate consumption, you can opt for oysters, pizzas, burgers and even Japanese specialities: everything to guarantee that your lunch break will be pleasant, in one of the biggest markets in North America.

14h30A touch of Europe

Although skyscrapers are flourishing in Montreal as they are in all the major cities in North America, the historic centre has managed to preserve the feel of yesteryear. In Old Montreal, lining narrow paved streets, the facades of low buildings echo 17th century European architecture. Art Deco and Neoclassical styles sit together amongst cafes and pleasant terraces. Among the essential sights, don’t miss the Place d’Armes where the first skyscraper of the city was built in 1988 and the Place Jacques Cartier. Car-free in the summer, it is very lively, with artists present, restaurants and ice cream parlours. In winter, it hosts a fairy tale-like Christmas market.

5pmTime for tea

Anyone feeling hungry might be tempted by a bagel, the small round buns available plain or with seeds, garnished or not. It seems that they rival those found in New York. You’ll have to taste them to find out! The secret of the Montreal bagel recipe is to be found in the touch of honey added to the water during the cooking by boiling.

6pmA wonderful show

In the late afternoon, the Notre-Dame basilica is adorned with its most beautiful finery. Every evening, at 6pm and 8pm, a stunning sound and light show takes place. But the visit is also worth a detour during the day. Built in 1829 in a Neo-Gothic style, it is known above all for its stained-glass windows and its blue vaulted ceiling decorated with angels and stars in 24-carat gold.

8pmA traditional or gourmet dinner?

In Montreal there is something to satisfy all tastes. On your first visit, you absolutely should taste poutine. This iconic Quebec dish is made up of French fries, melted cheese and a delicious gravy sauce. La Banquise restaurant is an iconic venue to try it: it is open continuously, day and night. Refined palettes will prefer to enjoy the delights of one of the venues that is reinventing Quebec cuisine. With harmoniously prepared dishes, fresh and in-season local produce marries perfectly with more exotic flavours. Creativity and good taste make this cuisine, and a new generation of chefs, successful.

Photos credits : ©iSotck / ©Unsplash

push-croisiere-ponant-5

PONANT takes you there

Embark on a cruise with PONANT to discover North America and Canada.

To discover

Ponant's brochures

Would you like to know more about our exceptional destinations?

mockup-escales-en
Exceptional trips and confidential stopovers coming soon to your email box!
Subscribe to the PONANT newsletter

Accueil > Une journée à Montréal

Une journée à Montréal

marc-olivier-jodoin-BG9oZ15a4Xk-unsplash

Bulle d’air, balade arty et son et lumière

Métropole du Québec, Montréal inspire et attire les visiteurs de tous horizons, parfois même pour de courtes escales. Que voir en une journée à Montréal ? Voici un guide pour votre escapade dans la plus grande ville du Canada.

9hRespirez

Poumon de la ville, le parc du Mont-Royal, a été pensé par le même paysagiste que celui de Central Park, à New York. On y vient pour profiter de son lac aux Castors, agréable pour des pique-niques et promenades en été, et prisé pour le patinage en hiver ! Mais le parc du Mont-Royal doit aussi son nom à sa colline. Culminant à 234 mètres, elle offre une vue imprenable sur la ville, l’horizon, les lacs alentour. Une véritable respiration au beau milieu de cette métropole de plus d’1,7 million d’habitants.

11hUn tour au musée

Le musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal est reconnu à l’international pour la variété et la richesse de ses collections. Toutes les époques y sont représentées. Le visiteur découvre ainsi les trésors archéologiques de Méditerranée, d’Asie, d’Afrique, d’Amérique et du Moyen-Orient. Il se plonge ensuite dans l’art du Moyen ge, de la Renaissance, des périodes baroque, classique et des Lumières, pour arriver à l’Impressionnisme et déboucher sur l’art contemporain, la photographie et le design. Tout un secteur réservé à l’art québécois et canadien complète ces expositions permanentes et temporaires parmi les plus pointues au monde.

13hCuisine du marché

Pour le déjeuner, rendez-vous est pris au marché Jean-Talon, ouvert de 7h à 18h non-stop. Ici, on se régale de produits du terroir aussi bien que de saveurs d’Asie ou du Moyen-Orient. Les étals regorgent de fleurs coupées, de fruits et légumes, de produits de la mer (pêche du jour garantie !) et de viandes maturées à souhait. Pour une dégustation immédiate, on pourra opter pour des huîtres, des pizzas, des burgers ou encore des spécialités japonaises : de quoi garantir une pause déjeuner agréable dans l’un des plus grands marchés d’Amérique du Nord. .

14h30Un air d’Europe

Si les gratte-ciel ont fleuri à Montréal comme dans toutes les grandes cités d’Amérique du Nord, le centre historique a su conserver des airs d’antan. Dans le Vieux Montréal, en bordure des petites rues pavées, les façades des immeubles bas rappellent l’architecture de l’Europe du XVIIe siècle. Styles Art déco et néoclassique se côtoient dans cette vieille ville où fleurissent les cafés et leurs agréables terrasses. Parmi les incontournables, il ne faut pas manquer la place d’Armes où a été construit le premier gratte-ciel de la ville, en 1988, ou encore la place Jacques Cartier. Piétonne en été, elle est très animée, avec la présence d’artistes peintres, de restaurants et de glaciers. En hiver, elle accueille un marché de Noël féerique.

17hL’heure du goûter

Ceux qui auront un petit creux se laisseront tenter par un bagel, ces petits pains ronds nature ou aux graines, garnis ou non. Il paraît qu’ils rivalisent largement avec ceux de New York. Il n’y a plus qu’à goûter pour trancher ! Le secret de la recette du bagel montréalais se trouverait dans la touche de miel ajoutée à l’eau lors de la cuisson par ébullition.

18hUn divin spectacle

En fin d’après-midi, la basilique Notre-Dame se pare de ses plus beaux atours. Tous les soirs, à 18h et à 20h, il est en effet possible d’assister à un spectacle de son et lumière tout simplement grandiose. Mais la visite vaut aussi le détour en journée. Construite en 1829 dans un style néogothique, elle est surtout réputée pour des vitraux et sa voûte bleue ornée d’anges et d’étoiles en or 24 carats. Tout simplement époustouflant.

20hDîner typique ou gastronomique

Ce qui est bien à Montréal, c’est qu’il y en a pour tous les goûts. Pour une première visite, il faut absolument se laisser tenter par la poutine. Ce plat emblématique du Québec se compose de frites, de fromage fondu et d’une sauce brune savoureuse. Le restaurant La Banquise reste l’un des endroits mythiques où la déguster : il est ouvert en continu, de jour comme de nuit. Les becs fins préféreront goûter aux délices d’une des tables qui réinventent la cuisine québécoise. Dans les assiettes harmonieusement dressées, produits locaux, frais et de saison se marient à la perfection avec des saveurs plus exotiques. Esthétisme, créativité et bon goût font le succès de cette cuisine de chefs nouvelle génération.

Crédits photos : ©iSotck / ©Unsplash

push-croisiere-ponant-5

PONANT vous y emmène

Partez à la découverte des trésors naturels et culturels  de l’Europe du Nord

À découvrir

Envies d’ailleurs
Envies d’ailleurs
Parce que découvrir, voyager, explorer, c’est avant tout un état d’esprit, une façon d’envisager le monde...

Les brochures PONANT

Vous souhaitez en savoir davantage sur nos destinations d’exception ?

mockup-escales
Des voyages d’exception et des escales confidentielles bientôt dans votre boîte email !
Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter PONANT